Venerdì, 6 ottobre 2023

The Ambrosetti medal goes to Alessandro Carlotto

The award ceremony will take place in Trieste on November 24th

Versione stampabile

Citation of the prize committee: "The 2023 edition of the Ambrosetti Medal is awarded to Alessandro Carlotto for groundbreaking contributions to several different areas of geometric analysis, such as geometric relativity, minimal surface theory, and the study of manifolds with positive scalar curvature [...]"

The Ambrosetti Medal is awarded every two years jointly by four institutions: Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, Unione Matematica Italiana, Scuola Normale Superiore and SISSA.  

The award ceremony will take place in Trieste on November 24th, and will be part of the three-day event 50 years of Mountain Pass Theorem, a conference to celebrate the theorem and its authors, to which Professor Carlotto will contribute with a plenary lecture. 

Ambrosetti Medal committee, 2023:

Prof. Paul Rabinbowitz (chair) [Accademia dei Lincei]
Prof. Massimiliano Berti  (SISSA)
Prof. Vittorio Coti Zelati  (Università Federico II, Napoli)
Prof. Andrea Malchiodi  (Scuola Normale Superiore)
Prof. Filomena Pacella  (Unione Matematica Italiana)

(See SISSA for the original press release and related article)